Regional Areas of Australian

Regional Australia / Low population growth metropolitan areas for Australia Immigration

This page lists the areas - including postcodes - for 'regional Australia' or a 'low population growth metropolitan area'.

For Australia General Skilled Migration Programme, you may be able to claim points for the 'regional Australia' part of the points test if you have lived in one or more of these areas and have studied full time at a campus located in regional Australia or a low population growth metropolitan area for at least 2 years prior to lodging your migration application. You need to demonstrate that you have studied at a campus located in one of the specified regional/low population growth metropolitan post codes.

Also if you are applying for Skilled - Regional Sponsored (Provisional) visa and you are being sponsored by a participating State or Territory government, you will be required to sign an undertaking that you, and any secondary applicants included in your application, will live, work or study, in a regional or a low population growth metropolitan area in Australia, gazetted at the time your provisional visa was granted for the duration of your visa, or until such time as you are able to obtain sponsorship for permanent residence under the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme. If you are granted a Skilled - Regional Sponsored (Provisional) visa, you and any secondary applicants will have a condition attached to your visas to ensure you comply with this undertaking.

Eligible postcodes

Area Postcodes Inclusive
Australian Capital Territory Entire Territory
New South Wales (Excluding Sydney Newcastle and Wollongong) 2250 to 2251 – (Central Coast)
2256 to 2263 – (Central Coast)
2311 to 2312
2328 to 2411
2420 to 2490
2536 to 2551
2575 to 2594
2618 to 2739
2787 to 2898
Norfolk Island Entire Territory
Northern Territory Entire Territory
Queensland (Excluding the greater Brisbane area and the Gold Coast) 4124 to 4125
4270 to 4272
4307 to 4499
4517 to 4519
4522 to 4899
South Australia Entire State
Tasmania Entire State
Victoria (Excluding Melbourne metropolitan Area) 3211 to 3334
3340 to 3424
3430 to 3649
3658 to 3749
3778 to 3781
3816 to 3909
3921 to 3925
3945 to 3974
3981 to 3996
Western Australia Entire State